Can I Give My Dog…? | Accurate Answers for Dog Owners 

Can I Give My Dog a Tums?

Can I give my dog tums?

If your dog is suffering from an apparent upset stomach, you might reach for your own pack of Tums and think about giving it to them. But it’s not really something they should have, even though it’s not going to harm them. There are only a few instances where you’d even think of giving it […]

Can I Give My Dog Avocado?

Can I give my dog avocado?

If you love the taste of fresh avocado and you’re thinking of giving your dog a taste as well, you probably hesitated because of avocado just seems like one of those foods that might not be good for them. Since it’s a fruit, and dogs are kind of funny when it comes to fruit and […]

Can I Give My Dog Claritin?

Can I give my dog Claritin?

If you are wondering whether or not it is okay to give your dog a Claritin to stop their allergic reactions, it’s a good thing that you did your research before just popping them a pill. Dogs are usually their happy-go-lucky selves, so it can be hard to watch when they are tripped up by […]

Can I Give My Dog Centrum?

Can I give my dog Centrum?

You might think that a good way to give your dog all the vitamins and minerals they need is to just give them a Centrum every day. This is a multivitamin designed for humans, but does it have any positive effect on dogs and can their bodies absorb the nutrients in it? The first problem […]

Can I Give My Dog Doritos?

Can I give my dog Doritos?

When you are munching on a bag of Doritos, it’s only natural to want to give some to your best bud, especially if they’re licking their lips in anticipation. But deep down you probably know you shouldn’t be giving them human food, and on top of that junk food. There’s just nothing in it that […]

Can I Give My Dog Almonds?

Can I give my dog almonds?

For humans, almonds are a very healthy food and many health experts recommend a daily intake of them. But what about for dogs? Will they get the same benefit as we do, or will it only cause problems for them? Almonds contain the good fats, as well as protein, and can help with everything from […]

Can I Give My Dog a Pregnancy Test?

Can I give my dog a pregnancy test?

If you’re wondering if your dog is pregnant, you might also wonder if a human pregnancy test will work on them. It’s a pretty interesting question, seeing how it deals with the sexual makeup of two different species. Since pregnancy test have a knack for not working too well for us humans, our first thought […]

Can I Give My Dog Bread?

Can I give my dog bread?

Dogs will eat just about anything including the basket of freshly baked bread on your tabletop. A dog’s diet must consist of nutrients obtained by eating specific foods and a loaf of bread isn’t exactly one of them. Giving your dog treats in the form of human food isn’t advisable. Sure, we might end up […]

Can I Give My Dog Calcium Supplements?

Can I give my dog calcium supplements?

Giving your dog calcium supplements might sound like a good idea because us humans are suggested to take it to help keep our bone structure strong. Some vets even recommend specially formulated calcium supplements for large breed dogs. However, there is a big difference between what is good for humans and what is good for […]

Can I Give My Dog Potatoes?

Can I give my dog potatoes?

Potatoes may seem pretty ordinary, and you wouldn’t suspect that you can’t give them to your dog, so lets see what sort of potatoes they can have, which they can’t, and whether or not you should even bother. Dogs are mostly carnivores out in the wild, which means that historically they like to eat meat […]

Can I Give My Dog Green Tea?

Can I give my dog green tea?

The health benefits of green tea are plentiful, and well-known. But is this something that can also benefit dogs, and if so, in what amounts should they be given it? Green tea is supposed to hunt down and eliminate free radicals from the body, therefore preventing a host of diseases, including cancer. So much research […]

Can I Give My Dog Broccoli?

Can I give my dog broccoli?

Broccoli is one of those healthy superfoods for us humans, but how about out best friends? Even though it’s packed with nutrients and vitamins, a dog’s digestive system is different than ours, so simple vegetables like broccoli will not be broken down the same way. In this case, it’s not whether it’s dangerous to give […]

Can I Give My Dog Protein?

Can I give my dog protein?

You might think that since you’re dog is a primarily a carnivore, you could supplement their protein intake for them. There are some breeds of dogs that are really muscular, and you might think that dogs might need a high protein intake just like humans do if they want a muscular physique. Since we humans […]

Can I Give My Dog Mouthwash?

Can I give my dog mouthwash?

Dogs are notorious for having “dog breath” and you might be tempted to use a little mouthwash to try and combat it. But can you give them human mouthwash, or is it something you should avoid? If your dog is the affectionate type, it might be hard to avoid them jumping up on the couch […]

Can I Give My Dog Ambien?

Can I give my dog Ambien?

If you’ve noticed that your dog has been having trouble sleeping, you might have thought they could benefit from an Ambien, or maybe a half of one or a quarter of one. While your intentions might be good, you shouldn’t give them such a powerful prescription drug meant for humans. Dogs are different than cats, […]

Can I Give My Dog Ibuprofen?

Can I give my dog Ibuprofen?

Ibuprofen is a time-tested standby in many homes across the country, but is this something that can safely be given to your dog when they are running a fever, in pain, or having trouble with their joints? It can be hard to watch your pet suffer, since they bring so much joy to your world […]

Can I Give My Dog Asparagus?

Can I give my dog asparagus?

Asparagus is one of the more healthy vegetables for people, but how about for dogs? It sounds logical that dogs would need the same sort of food that we do to keep them regular or to provide extra vitamins and nutrients. If you’ve read up on the benefits of asparagus in humans you will have […]

Can I Give My Dog Catnip?

Can I give my dog catnip?

If you’ve ever seen a cat on catnip you probably wondered if it’s something you can give your dog for the same comedic effect. The answer, unfortunately, is that dogs don’t respond to it the way cats do, so it’s really not something you should give them. There is some rumor going around that you […]

Can I Give My Dog Rescue Remedy?

Can I give my dog Rescue Remedy?

It can be heartbreaking to see your dog stuggling wtih anxiety and other stresses, and you might be thinking of giving them something like Rescue Remedy. This is a natural product that promises to calm your dog during stressful times. But is it really something that can make a difference, and is it safe? Domesticated […]

